Five Movies For The Class of 2017

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything here, but I’ve been watching movies nonetheless! My schedule has simply not allowed for the extra time to sit down and write my usual reviews here lately. For the curious: I like Fate of the Furious and I’ve seen Guardians Vol. 2 twice now, and I loved it even more the second time. So there’s that.

However, what’s on my mind now is graduation. I’m now less than a week from graduating high school, and there’s a lot of thoughts and feelings that I’m still trying to process amidst the excitement. With that, I’ve tried to think of a few movies that would help me do just that. I thought I’d share my list here in case any of my fellow high school graduates are interested.

So, class of 2017, here are five movies to watch before you graduate…

La La Land

At this point, we’re all tired of hearing about it; but the fact remains, this movie was the movie of the year during our senior year of high school. And with that, I feel it will always hold a special place in my heart and the hearts of other 2017 graduates…

Dazed and Confused

Richard Linklater makes his first appearance on this list with a movie that’s perfect for seniors in high school, as it’s about seniors in high school; and while they might be in the 1970s, they’re asking a lot the same questions we are. And they’re having just as much fun, too…

Sandlot

Perhaps the most nostalgic movie ever made about growing up in America. This is one that most of us grew up watching, and so the faces are familiar and harken back to our first eighteen years of life. Not only that, but some of the themes of the movie ring very true for our current season of life, as we spend some of our last days with those we grew up with on our own versions of the Sandlot…

Toy Story 3

Here is an interesting crossroads betweens intense feelings about life and the overwhelming joy and innocence of childhood. With Toy Story 3, you get to spend time with some old friends from when you were a kid, but visit them in a time that like you, senior, they are having to move on and say goodbye…

Boyhood

This is the ultimate movie for seniors in high school. One of Richard Linklater’s absolute best movies, Boyhood is a film epic that follows that was filmed throughout twelve years with the same cast, telling the story of a boy named Mason as he grows up. The movie follows Mason from the time he’s six to the time he’s eighteen, graduating high school and leaving for college. If there’s one movie you watch before graduating, Class of 2017, make it this one. It’s truly a one of a kind experience that will hit you right now on a more powerful level than any other time in your life; and there is perhaps no other movie that comes close to being as relevant to your life as this one…

 

Leave a Reply

